Results from the Strauss and Kandler Scholarships Competition

Posted on Mar 27, 2012 in Uncategorized | No Comments

MARCH 24TH, 2012 —Saturday March 24th, 2012 afternoon marked the annual Strauss and Kandler Scholarships Competition. The Johann Strauss Foundation: Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Scholarships for Advanced Study of Music in Austria are for 3 individuals to study for a minimum of 4 weeks in Austria. The Joseph and Melitta Kandler Scholarship for Advanced Music Study is for an individual to study for a minimum of 2 weeks in Europe. Candidates submitted study-abroad proposals earlier in the month and on Saturday auditioned and were interviewed by the judges, Mr. David Agler and Ms. Keiko Alexander. Conductor David Agler is artistic director of Wexford Festival Opera, director and conductor of the opera program at the Banff Festival, and former musical director of the Vancouver Opera. Pianist Keiko Alexander is a graduate of the Juilliard School in New York and has both performed and adjudicated extensively throughout Canada, the United States, Japan, and Germany. In addition to the level of performance at the auditions, other criteria considered includes, past artistic achievements, future professional intentions, nature and length of proposed program of study, and financial need.

The Strauss Scholarships have been awarded to (in alphabetical order): Evanna Chiew (3rd year B.Mus, Opera), Kayleigh Harrison (M.Mus Candidate, Opera), and Julia Kot (M.Mus Candidate, Opera). Runner-up: Bahareh Poureslami (3rd year B.Mus, Voice)

The Kandler Scholarship has been awarded to Hillary Young (4th year B.Mus, Voice). First Runner-up: Jocelyn Lai (3rd year B.Mus, Piano) & Second Runner-up: is Richard Petroski (M.Mus Candidate, Opera).

Special thanks to Roelof Oostwoud for organizing and administering the competition. For more information on the scholarships click here.